top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaitlin Webb

UoG men's football manager Buster Davies looks ahead to Varsity



VARSITY, the biggest event in the University calendar. The University of Gloucestershire prepare to face rivals Worcester University in a huge 2024 Varsity clash.


Ahead of the big occasion I caught up with newly appointed men’s football team manager, Buster Davies. Who gave his thoughts as him and his team look ahead to Varsity.


 “Preparations have been going well, the lads have bought into everything that’s expected of them, our style of play, philosophy, our tactics of the game are all pretty much there.”


 With just a couple days until the massive game I spoke with Buster just moments before they began their last training session ahead of Wednesday’s game.


“We’re training tonight and after this session our boys will be ready and hopefully all set for gameday. I cannot complain they’ve been great to me and for me in this build up.”


Davies is also a first team coach at Longlevens AFC who play in the Hellenic League Premier Division. As a result, Davies has never experienced what Varsity includes and what it is like to be part of, and more importantly what it means to those involved.


“I’m looking forward to it, hopefully it’s going to be a great day, the lads are excited and there’s a great buzz around, that being the whole sports arena in Gloucester, it’s enjoyable seeing everyone from all areas of sports in preparation for Varsity week. So over all I can’t wait, I’m really looking forward to it.”


The University of Gloucestershire are Varsity reigning champions having last won it in 2022, This is because last year’s Varsity was cancelled for the men’s football team due to problems on the University of Worcester’s side. Gloucestershire instead played a friendly against Hartpury University who play in the Hellenic League Division One league, the score ended 3-1 to Hartpury.


“Myself and the boys will be looking to push on from our last victory in 2022, it’s a new experience for me with Varsity, it’s nothing like I’ve ever come up against before, it’s a challenge which I look forward to.


Last Wednesday included huge preparations leading up to the Varsity game, I was asking a lot from the side, I need to make sure that the spirits remain high and well within the team heading into the game. We’re in a good place as a group, their attitude has been spot-on as well as their work rate. I will go over the game plan in this evening’s training session so they can execute that in Wednesday’s game. Over all I am very confident that we can get the win, we have a good side who’ve worked very hard over the last couple months to be where we are today.”

2 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page